Russia Launches Gazprom Telecoms Satellite


RIA Novosti.December 8,2012

Launch of Proton-M carrier rocket

Launch of Proton-M carrier rocket © RIA Novosti. Oleg Urusov

A  Proton-M carrier rocket blasted off on Saturday to orbit a Yamal-class telecoms satellite for Gazprom Space Systems (GSS), a telecommunications arm of Russia’s energy giant Gazprom.

It lifted off from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan at 5:13 p.m. Moscow time [13:13 GMT], Russia’s Federal Space Agency Roscosmos said.

The Yamal-402 satellite, built by Thales Alenia Space, is equipped with 46 Ku-band transponders providing for the coverage zone over the most part of the territory of Russia, CIS, Europe, Middle East and Africa.

It is expected reach its orbit at 2.28 a.m. Moscow time on Sunday [22:28 GMT Saturday]

This is the second Yamal-class telecoms satellite launched for GSS this year.

The Yamal-300K telecoms satellite, built by Russia’s Reshetnev space company, was orbited on November 3. Its service zone covers 95% of the Russian territory.

GSS, formerly known as Gazcom, currently operates a cluster of four Yamal telecoms satellites in orbit.

The company is planning to have a Yamal satellite network in orbit by 2020.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s